Scallop Circle Purse Tutorial… and a couple of variations

I have now finished the tutorial for the Scallop Circle purse – click on “Scallop Circle Purse” in the sidebar under Tutorials.

A comment made by Donna on the blog hop, and a semi-sleepless night inspired these variations. (Thanks, Donna!)

The first is really just a larger version of the scallop circle purse, and is large enough to hold a thick, lightweight paperbook (like one of my daughter’s Twilight novels!) or a batch of A5 (folded) cards and envelopes.

Large Kraft & Soft Suede Purse with flowers, Large Kraft & Soft Suede Purse with flowers

For the purse, I used:
Card: Kraft, Soft Suede
Other: scallop edge punch, crop-a-dile, jumbo eyelets, Soft Suede Polka-Dot grosgrain ribbon, sticky strip, Velcro Dot

For the flowers, I used:
Card: Whisper White, Certainly Celery
Stamp Pads: Regal Rose
Stamps: Vintage Vogue
Other: scallop circle punch, Big shot and Sizzlets Little Leaves die, Vintage brads

Aren’t these flowers gorgeous? I’m not sure who developed the original idea, but I first saw them on Dawn Griffiths’ (a US demo) blog. She has a video tutorial on how to make them here.

Because I wanted mine in Regal Rose (and I thought I’d have a trial run to see how they looked before I used some DSP), I made my own “DSP” with Whisper White cardstock, stamped randomly all over with stamps from the Vintage Vogue set. I love the variegated look. They were so easy!

The second project I made to hold a gift for my niece’s baby shower – I guess you could call it a “faux” nappy bag! I also made a little matching gift card for it.

Nappy Bag Tote (Wild About You) with gift card

For the Nappy Bag, I used:
Card: Whisper White, Barely Banana
Stamp Pads: Pretty in Pink, Bashful Blue, Barely Banana, Certainly Celery
Stamps: Wild About You
Other: Mat pack, 5/8″ So Saffron grosgrain ribbon from a special SU! promotion last year, vintage brads, sticky strip

I have included the additional instructions for both of these projects in “Purse Variations” in the sidebar.

Leave a Reply

