Shimmer Paint Projects

This is a little extra information I wanted to add about the “off the page” items I made for the Christmas blog hop, as promised.

I have had lots of fun playing around with the new Shimmer Paints on cards, but wanted to see how they were on other media. The Platinum is a more opaque paint and less shimmery than the Frost White (shimmery and translucent) and the Champagne Mist (a little more glittery than the Frost White, but in a subtle way!).

They worked well, but can have a completely different look, depending on what you are using them on – I found that the Platinum is more metallic on cardstock than fabric, but looks great on both. The colour of the cardstock or fabric also affects the look.

Apply shimmer paint to the stamps with a sponge dauber (shake well, then dip dauber into the lid to pick up the paint). Clean shimmer paint from the stamps with Stampin’ Mist, just as for normal dye ink.

I used white poly cotton for the serviettes and made a rolled hem on my overlocker (I haven’t used my overlocker for quite a while, so almost had to re-learn it, lol!). I made six serviettes from 1 metre of fabric.

I stamped the large snowflakes and tiny snowflakes with the Platinum shimmer paint and the medium snowflakes with the Champagne Mist shimmer paint (using a sponge dauber on the stamps), then heat set with a dry iron. I tested it out on a scrap of the fabric first, and initially started to heat set with the heat tool, but because of the polyester content of the fabric it was too hot and the fabric seemed to “shrink” very slightly, so I switched over to the iron. I washed it to check whether the shimmer paint was permanent and it came up really well – I would probably recommend handwashing or gentle machine washing, as the Champagne Mist shimmer paint, being more shimmery and transparent, might wash off over time.

I used:
Stamps: Snow Swirled
Shimmer Paint: Platinum, Champagen Mist
Other: sponge daubers

I bought gaberdine for the Christmas stockings and used some scrap white fabric for the tops:

I did these the same as the serviettes, but haven’t yet washed them to check how the paint fares with the thicker weave fabric.

On the blue stocking, I used Platinum shimmer paint on the tree and on the tiny snowflakes, Champagne Mist on the large snowflakes and Frost White on the medium snowflakes. The Platinum and the Frost White showed up really well on the blue, with the Champagne Mist having a more shimmery translucent effect.

The Platinum on “Dasher” and the tiny snowflakes showed up reasonably well on the bright pink (just like Melon Mambo) stocking, the Frost White not so well, but still looked pretty, but the Champagne Mist hardly showed up at all, just a few specks of glitter, so I didn’t continue with that.

I used:
Stamps: Snow Swirled, Dasher
Shimmer Paint: Platinum, Champagne Mist, Frost White
Other: sponge daubers

The darker fabric worked much better for this, I think, particularly with the thicker weave on the gaberdine rather than the fine weave on the poly cotton serviettes.

I used acetate for the coasters (I didn’t have any Window Sheets when I did these, but I would use the thick ones). Because I couldn’t heat set the ink on the acetate, I wasn’t sure whether the simmer paint would wash off, so I used White Stazon ink.

I wanted a little colour as well, so I added a drop of Bashful Blue reinker to a small amount of white Stazon ink (in a small container like an empty button container) then a drop of Baja Breeze, as it was not quite the colour I wanted. The large snowflakes were stamped with this and the medium snowflakes with the White Stazon. I used the Platinum shimmer paint for the tiny snowflakes.

Although I couldn’t heat set the shimmer paint, after I’d let the ink dry, I tested out the coasters with cold and hot drinks and also ran water over them, and the shimmer paint looks as good as when I stamped them! (also looks a little more metallic than on the fabric). I didn’t try out the Frost White or the Champagne Mist on these, but I think that the Frost White would probably work well – something on my “to do” list, for when I have a little more time!

This is such a long post, I’ll post the details of the door hanger and card next time!

Leave a Reply

