More Swan Lake

This card was rather more challenging than the previous cards I posted using the Swan Lake set. It went through a couple of incarnations before I was reasonably happy with it. The outline of the swan is a little thicker than most stamps, so stamping it in Basic Black or even Basic Gray was too dark for my liking. I finally stamped it in Smoky Slate ink, after off-stamping it once or twice; almost like no-line stamping. I then painted the whole swan with Wink of Stella.

Card: Crumb Cake, Bermuda Bay, Whisper White;
Stamp Pads: Pear Pizzazz, Pool Party, Daffodil Delight, Smoky Slate, Memento – Tuxedo Black;
Stamps: Swan Lake, Gift of Love (hostess);
Other: Layering Ovals framelits, Bunch of Banners framelits, Seaside embossing folder, clear block, spritzer, basic rhinestones, scoring stylus (from Simply Scored), piercing mat, Wink of Stella – clear

Here is another card using the Swan Lake set. I used a different kind of double-stamping technique with this card, which Sara Douglass demonstrated at On Stage. First I stamped the ‘Happy’ & ‘Birthday’ from the Birthday Bright set with Sweet Sugarplum ink, then ‘dusted’ the card with the embossing buddy. Next I inked only the lower half of the words with Versamark ink, stamped over the Sweet Sugarplum words and embossed with gold embossing powder. Then I gold embossed the flowers and coloured them with inks and blender pens. I felt the card was still a little stark, so I lightly sponged it with Crumb Cake.

Card: Sweet Sugarplum, Whisper White;
Stamp Pads: Sweet Sugarplum, Rich Razzleberry, Mint Macaron, Pink Pirouette, Crumb Cake, Versamark;
Stamps: Swan Lake, Birthday Bright;
Other: Gold embossing powder, embossing buddy, blender pen

Tags: , , , , ,

One Response to “More Swan Lake”

  1. kreatinwithkris Says:

    Lovely cards Jan. I absolutely adore the first one. Your attention to detail is amazing.

Leave a Reply

